HomeMusicNew MusicSnow Patrol Announce First Album in Seven Years, 'Wildness'

    Snow Patrol Announce First Album in Seven Years, ‘Wildness’

    Snow Patrol fans are in for a treat today! The wait for new music from the band is over (well, almost).Snow Patrol will return to music with their first album in seven years this spring. This album finds the band look for “clarity, connection and meaning while staying true to the melodic songwriting prowess that brought them to prominence.” Wildness drops on May 25th on Republic Records.

    “There are many types of wildness, but I think it can be distilled into two: the wildness of the modern age, all it’s confusion, illogic and alienation and a more ancient wildness,” lead-singer and songwriter Gary Lightbody says. “Something primal, alive and beautiful that speaks to our true connectivity, our passion, our love, our communion with nature and each other. This is the kind of wildness the album is centered around. The loss of it. Trying to reconnect with it. To remember it.”

    Wildness was produced by Jacknife Lee, the band’s longtime producer and collaborator. Although they worked with a familiar talent, they found themselves approaching this record in a different way.

    “I think it’s the first record I’ve ever written that I haven’t just asked a bunch of questions. I actually tried to figure out why I was unhappy, why I feel out of place, why I’m afraid,” Lightbody explains. “There’s nothing really to protect myself for — it’s all in the album. I want to remember.”

    One tragic inspiration on the album is Lightbody’s father, who is suffering from dementia. I think the album is defined by memory in a lot of ways, including my father’s loss of memory.”

    Pre-order Snow Patrol’s Wildness now from the band’s official store and get first access to see the band live.

    Wildness Track Listing:

    1. “Life on Earth”
    2. “Don’t Give In”
    3. “Heal Me”
    4. “Empress”
    5. “A Dark Switch”
    6. “What if This is All the Love You Ever Get?”
    7. “A Youth Written in Fire”
    8. “Soon”
    9. “Wild Horses”
    10. “Life and Death”