HomeCultureNashville Symphony Launches New 'Artist Spotlight Series'

    Nashville Symphony Launches New ‘Artist Spotlight Series’

    The following is a press release:

    The Nashville Symphony has released details of its new Artist Spotlight Series, showcasing a range of guest artists performing concerts and solo recitals in Laura Turner Hall at Schermerhorn Symphony Center. The first concerts will feature Limmie Pulliam, a tenor currently experiencing a meteoric rise to international stardom; pianist Joyce Yang, a favorite guest of the Nashville Symphony who will take a solo turn; and, a stop on a countrywide tour of the National Youth Orchestra of the USA with violinist Hilary Hahn.

    Tickets start at $25, with presale happening now for all Nashville Symphony subscribers. General public on sale begins Friday, April 21 at 10:00 AM. Discounts, presales, and more subscriber perks available when purchasing all three concerts at once. More information about the series can be found at

    Limmie Pulliam in Recital

    Make Them Hear You: A Spiritual Journey

    A Juneteenth Celebration

    Monday, June 19, 2023 at 8:00 PM

    Hot on the heels of his spectacular Carnegie Hall debut, the incredibly talented tenor Limmie Pulliam and pianist Mark Markham will bring an evening of spirituals to Schermerhorn Symphony Center. A dramatic tenor, Pulliam thrills audiences with his captivating stage presence and his powerful yet intimate sound. He recently made his debut at the Metropolitan Opera, where he became the first African American in the Met’s history to perform the role of Radamès in Giuseppe Verdi’s Aida. Pulliam’s program will be drawn from arrangements of “Great Day!,” “Wade in De Water,” “Ride On, King Jesus!,” “Another Man Done Gone,” and other spirituals.

    More information can be found at

    Joyce Yang in Recital

    Thursday, June 22, 2023 at 7:30pm

    A Nashville Symphony audience favorite, pianist Joyce Yang captivates listeners with her virtuosity, lyricism, and interpretive sensitivity. Recent appearances with the Orchestra include performances of Grieg’s Piano Concerto in 2022, Chopin’s Second Piano Concerto in 2021, Rachmaninoff’s Concerto No. 2 in 2018, and Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto at Ascend Amphitheater in 2017. Winner of the 2010 Avery Fisher Career Grant and a GRAMMY® Award nominee for Best Chamber Music/Small Ensemble Performance, Yang showcases her colorful musical personality in solo recitals and collaborations with the world’s top orchestras and chamber musicians.

    Yang’s innovative solo recitals have been described as kaleidoscopic, featuring contemporary voices alongside classics in the repertoire. Her Schermerhorn recital builds on that practice, with Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s rarely heard The Seasons; Sergei Rachmaninoff’s Six Preludes from Op. 32; Egon Petri’s arrangement of J.S. Bach’s “Sheep May Safely Graze”; and Aaron Jay Kernis’s “Un Bacio” (A Kiss) on themes by John Corigliano and Mark Adamo. For the grand finale, she’ll perform Igor Stravinsky’s Firebird Suite in a dazzling and technically daring arrangement for piano by Guido Agosti.

    More information can be found at

    National Youth Orchestra of the USA with Hilary Hahn

    Sir Andrew Davis, conductor

    Thursday, July 20, 2023 at 7:30 PM

    For the past ten years, Carnegie Hall’s Weill Music Institute has assembled the finest young musicians ages 16–19 from across the country to form the National Youth Orchestra of the United States of America. Following a competitive audition process and training in New York with musicians from top professional US orchestras, these remarkable teenagers perform at Carnegie Hall and then serve as musical ambassadors, performing in the great music capitals of the world. We’re proud that two of our Nashville Symphony Accelerando students, trombonist Orlandis Maise and French hornist Derek “Miles” Woods – both graduating seniors at Martin Luther King Jr. Magnet High School – will go on the road with the orchestra this summer for the NYO’s 10th anniversary tour, and we’ll get to root them on at the Schermerhorn for this one-night-only concert. Celebrated violinist Hilary Hahn joins the orchestra as soloist in a program that includes a new Carnegie Hall commission from composer Valerie Coleman and Berlioz Symphonie fantastique.

    More information can be found at

    %d bloggers like this: