All-genre music, entertainment + lifestyle publication

Michael Ray Amos
New Music

Michael Ray Announces New Album Named After Grandfather ‘Amos’

Michael Ray is gearing up to release a new album and this one is extra special. 

Amos is the title of Ray’s sophomore album and it’s named after his grandfather. Ray’s grandfather passed away just two months before Ray made his debut at the Grand Ole Opry. He was crucial to Ray’s love for music and invited him to play with the family band starting at just nine years old.

Amos is a collection of 11 songs that drops on June 1. The album includes his current single, “Get To You,” as well as his show opener, “Fan Girl.” If you’ve seen Ray on the road lately, you’ve probably heard several of these tracks live.

“When it came time to pick the next song for fans to hear, I listened to the fans. For months we have been playing these songs on the road and we start most every show with ‘Fan Girl,’ so it was time to put this song in their hands,” he explains. “The lyrics, ‘You give me that front row feeling, / Screaming with my hands up. / Walk in the room and everybody stands up,’ create such a powerful visual. That — equated to how you feel about a girl — is a perspective I had not heard before, yet I know exactly what that feeling is.”

Ray’s forthcoming album was produced by Scott Hendricks and it has an eclectic mix of songs and songwriters. Josh Osborne has a couple of songwriting credits as do Luke Laird, Josh Thompson and The Cadillac Three‘s Jaren Johnston. With a mix of writers like that, it’s no surprise the album has everything from mid-tempo summer anthems (“Summer Water”), possible wedding songs (“Dancing Forever”) and even a tribute to his grandfather. Ray’s “Drink One For Me” is a tribute to Amos as well as Ray’s friends in the military.

Fans can pre-order Amos now by clicking on the album art below.

Amos Track Listing:

1. “Fan Girl”
2. “One That Got Away”
3. “Summer Water”
4. “Get To You”
5. “Forget About It”
6. “Her World Or Mine”
7. “You’re On”
8. “I’m Gonna Miss You”
9. “Dancing Forever”
10. “Girl From Spring Break”
11. “Drink One For Me”