HomeMusicNew MusicMary Chapin Carpenter Announces New Album, 'Sometimes Just The Sky'

    Mary Chapin Carpenter Announces New Album, ‘Sometimes Just The Sky’

    Big news for dedicated Mary Chapin Carpenter fans! The country singer is prepping a new album, Sometimes Just The Sky, for release this March.

    Carpenter is readying a 13-track album for release on March 30. The record will include some of her most beloved songs as well as one new one. She picked 12 tracks to make the bulk of the album — one from each of her studio albums. Carpenter’s newly written song ended up becoming the album’s title track, “Sometimes Just the Sky.”

    “I read a beautiful interview with Patti Smith in which she said that you don’t have to look far or wide, and it doesn’t have to be complicated or expensive or madness in order to find things to soothe you in life, or to be happy about,” she says referring to the title track. “Sometimes just the sky makes everything fall into perspective.”

    The album was produced by Ethan Johns and was recorded at Peter Gabriel’s Real World Studios outside Bath, England. On the record, she’s joined by her longtime collaborator, Duke Levine, on guitar.

    For fans who just can’t wait until March 30, they can hear the lead track now on SoundCloudSometimes Just The Sky is available for pre-order now. To celebrate the new album, Carpenter will hit the road on tour later this year. Stay tuned for details as they’re announced.

    Sometimes Just the Sky Track Listing:

    1. “Heroes and Heroines”
    2. “What Does It Mean To Travel”
    3. “I Have A Need For Solitude”
    4. “One Small Heart”
    5. “The Moon and St. Christopher”
    6. “Superman”
    7. “Naked To The Eye”
    8. “Rhythm of the Blues”
    9. “This is Love”
    10. “Jericho”
    11. “The Calling”
    12. “This Shirt”
    13. “Sometimes Just The Sky”