Friday, October 22, 2021
HomeNews2018 Grammys Nominations: Jay-Z, Kendrick Lamar Lead the Nominees

2018 Grammys Nominations: Jay-Z, Kendrick Lamar Lead the Nominees

Nominees for the 2018 Grammys are here! This year, Jay-Z leads the nominees with a total of eight nods.

On Tuesday morning, Andra Day made a stop on CBS This Morning to announce the first Grammy categories. Day revealed nominees for Best New Artist, Record of the Year, Song of the Year and Album of the Year. Following that, The Recording Academy announced the full list of this year’s nominees.

Jay-Z snagged a total of eight nods, followed by Kendrick Lamar with seven. Bruno Mars got six nominations including one for Record of the Year. Several artists walked away with five nods. Khalid, Childish Gambino and producer No I.D. got five as did SZA. SZA is this year’s most nominated woman!

The Grammys will air on CBS on Jan. 28 live from Madison Square Garden. Stay tuned for live coverage of the 2018 Grammys and check out several of the nominee categories below. The Recording Academy’s website has the full list.

General Field

Record of the Year:

“Redbone” — Childish Gambino
“Despacito” — Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee Featuring Justin Bieber
“The Story Of O.J.” — JAY-Z
“HUMBLE.” — Kendrick Lamar
“24K Magic” — Bruno Mars

Album of the Year:

“Awaken, My Love!” — Childish Gambino
4:44 — JAY-Z
DAMN. — Kendrick Lamar
Melodrama — Lorde
24K Magic — Bruno Mars

Song of the Year:

“Despacito” — songwriters Ramón Ayala, Justin Bieber, Jason “Poo Bear” Boyd, Erika Ender, Luis Fonsi and Marty James Garton (Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee Featuring Justin Bieber)
“4:44” — songwriters Shawn Carter and Dion Wilson (JAY-Z)
“Issues” — songwriters Benny Blanco, Mikkel Storleer Eriksen, Tor Erik Hermansen, Julia Michaels and Justin Drew Tranter (Julia Michaels)
“1-800-273-8255” — songwriters Alessia Caracciolo, Sir Robert Bryson Hall II, Arjun Ivatury and Khalid Robinson (Logic Featuring Alessia Cara & Khalid)
“That’s What I Like” — songwriters Christopher Brody Brown, James Fauntleroy, Philip Lawrence, Bruno Mars, Ray Charles McCullough II, Jeremy Reeves, Ray Romulus and Jonathan Yip (Bruno Mars)

Best New Artist:

Alessia Cara
Lil Uzi Vert
Julia Michaels


Best Pop Solo Performance:

“Love So Soft” — Kelly Clarkson
“Praying” — Kesha
“Million Reasons” — Lady Gaga
“What About Us” — Pink
“Shape Of You” — Ed Sheeran

Best Pop Duo/Group Performance:

“Something Just Like This” ­— The Chainsmokers and Coldplay
“Despacito” — Luis Fonsi and Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
“Thunder” — Imagine Dragons
“Feel It Still” — Portugal. The Man
“Stay” — Zedd & Alessia Cara

Best Pop Vocal Album:

Kaleidoscope EP — Coldplay
Lust for Life — Lana del Ray
Evolve — Imagine Dragons
Rainbow — Kesha
Joanne — Lady Gaga
÷ (Divide) — Ed Sheeran

Dance/Electronic Music

Best Dance/Electronic Album:

Migration — Bonobo
3-D The Catalogue — Kraftwerk
Mura Masa — Mura Masa
A Moment Apart — Odesza
What Now — Sylvan Esso


Best Rock Performance:

“You Want It Darker” — Leonard Cohen
“The Promise” — Chris Cornell
“Run” — Foo Fighters
“No Good” — Kaleo
“Go To War” — Nothing More

Best Rock Song:

“Atlas, Rise!” — songwriters James Hetfield & Lars Ulrich (Metallica)
“Blood In The Cut” — songwriters JT Daly and Kristine Flaherty (K.Flay)
“Go To War” — songwriters Ben Anderson, Jonny Hawkins, Will Hoffman, Daniel Oliver, David Pramik and Mark Vollelunga (Nothing More)
“Run” songwriters Foo Fighters (Foo Fighters)
“The Stage” — songwriters Zachary Baker, Brian Haner, Matthew Sanders, Jonathan Seward and Brooks Wackerman (Avenged Sevenfold)

Best Rock Album:

Emperor Of Sand – Mastodon
Hardwired…To Self-Destruct – Metallica
The Stories We Tell Ourselves – Nothing More
Villains – Queens Of The Stone Age
A Deeper Understanding – The War On Drugs


Best Alternative Music Album:

Everything Now – Arcade Fire
Humanz – Gorillaz
American Dream – LCD Soundsystem
Pure Comedy – Father John Misty
Sleep Well Beast – The National


Best R&B Performance:

“Get You” — Daniel Caesar feat. Kali Uchis
“Distraction” — Kehlani
“High” — Ledisi
“That’s What I Like” — Bruno Mars
“The Weekend” — SZA

Best Urban Contemporary Album:

Free 6lack — 6lack
“Awaken, My Love!” — Childish Gambino
American Teen — Khalid
Ctrl — SZA
Starboy — The Weeknd


Best Rap Performance:

“Bounce Back” — Big Sean
“Bodak Yellow” — Cardi B
“4:44” — Jay-Z
“HUMBLE.” — Kendrick Lamar
“Bad And Boujee” — Migos feat. Lil Uzi Vert

Best Rap Album:

4:44 — JAY-Z
DAMN. — Kendrick Lamar
Culture — Migos
Laila’s Wisdom — Rapsody
Flower Boy — Tyler, The Creator


Best Country Solo Performance

“Body Like a Back Road” — Sam Hunt
“Losing You” — Alison Krauss
“Tin Man” — Miranda Lambert
“I Could Use a Love Song” — Maren Morris
“Either Way” — Chris Stapleton

Best Country Duo/Group Performance:

“It Ain’t My Fault” —Brothers Osborne
“My Old Man” — Zac Brown Band
“You Look Good” — Lady Antebellum
“Better Man” — Little Big Town
“Drinkin’ Problem” — Midland

Best Country Album:

Cosmic Hallelujah — Kenny Chesney
Heart Break — Lady Antebellum
The Breaker — Little Big Town
Life Changes — Thomas Rhett
From A Room: Volume 1 — Chris Stapleton


Best Comedy Album:

The Age Of Spin & Deep In The Heart Of Texas — Dave Chappelle
Cinco — Jim Gaffigan
Jerry Before Seinfeld — Jerry Seinfeld
A Speck Of Dust — Sarah Silverman
What Now? — Kevin Hart

Music for Visual Media

Best Song Written for Visual Media:

“City Of Stars” — songwriters Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (Ryan Gosling & Emma Stone), Track from La La Land
“How Far I’ll Go” — songwriter Lin-Manuel Miranda (Auli’i Cravalho), Track from Moana: The Songs
“I Don’t Wanna Live Forever (Fifty Shades Darker)” — songwriters Jack Antonoff, Sam Dew and Taylor Swift (ZAYN & Taylor Swift), Track from Fifty Shades Darker
“Never Give Up” — songwriters Sia Furler and Gregg Kurstin (Sia), Track from Lion
“Stand Up For Something” — songwriters Common and Diane Warren (Andra Day Featuring Common), Track from Marshall

Production, Non-Classical

Producer of the Year, Non-Classical:

Calvin Harris
No I.D.
Greg Kurstin
Blake Mills
The Stereotypes


Most Popular

Recent Comments

Darlene G Smith on The 10 Best Casey James Songs
Darlene G Smith on The 10 Best Casey James Songs
%d bloggers like this: