HomeMusicNew MusicBrooks & Dunn's 'Reboot' Collab Album Came After Luke Combs Meeting

    Brooks & Dunn’s ‘Reboot’ Collab Album Came After Luke Combs Meeting

    Brooks & Dunn‘s collaboration album was one of 2019’s best keep secrets (only behind Miranda Lambert‘s secret marriage). Reboot drops April 5 via Arista Nashville/Sony Music Nashville and includes collabs with Thomas Rhett, Brett Young, Kacey Musgraves, Brothers Osborne, Luke Combs and more.

    According to a recent press release, it was actually a chance meeting with Combs and the duo’s long-time manager that got this project in the works. Combs explained to their manager what the duo’s music had done for his own and the rest is beautiful music history. Because of that meeting, Combs is featured on this record with the duo on “Brand New Man.” That song is available by clicking on the album artwork below.

    “Brooks & Dunn’s music absolutely had a tremendous impact on me,” Combs explained. “To me, they invented that foot stomping, driving sound. And it’s so cool that this has turned into such an awesome album with artists that actually grew up listening to Brooks & Dunn. Their music was so influential to us that having the chance to come in and bounce ideas off the guys and sing with them in the studio was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity.”

    Kane Brown is also featured on the album, collaborating on a spiritually charged version of “Believe.” “I’ve never really sung in the studio with someone else, especially not with someone whose voice is as good as Ronnie’s,” Brown said. “For him to be looking at me on the other side of the glass, and both of us singing, it was just awesome. It felt like we just got comfortable around each other, so we were really able to kill it.”

    That track is also available now by clicking on the album art below.

    This was Brooks & Dunn’s first time hitting the studio together since 2007 alongside producer Dan Huff. The result was 12 remakes with the talented artists listed above as well as LANCO, Ashley McBryde, Midland, Cody Johnson, Jon Pardi and Tyler Booth. Pardi’s track is a honky-tonk take on “My Next Broken Heart.”

    “Each artist came at it from a different angle,” Ronnie Dunn explains. “When Jon Pardi walked in, he said ‘I’m in, but we’re not changing anything,’ and we didn’t musically, but his vocal speaks for itself.”

    “They’re making their own music,” Kix Brooks says. “But just like we did, they still remember and respect the music they grew up with. It makes you feel good that these acts were inspired by us in some small way.” 

    “This whole experience has been humbling to say the least. What a cool rush to hear somebody do one of your tunes in a unique way, and it still holds up,” Ronnie Dunn adds. “That’s the greatest compliment you can get as an artist. People used to ask us all the time about the legacy we wanted to leave, and it’s honestly just that — you hope the music stands up over time. This is the first opportunity we’ve had to run it up a new flagpole… and it really flies.” 

    Stay tuned for more news on Reboot. The record will be out in its entirety on April 5.

    Reboot Track Listing:

    1. “Brand New Man” (with Luke Combs)
    2. “Ain’t Nothing ‘Bout You” (with Brett Young)
    3. “My Next Broken Heart” (with Jon Pardi)
    4. “Neon Moon” (with Kacey Musgraves)*
    5. “Lost and Found” (with Tyler Booth)
    6. “Hard Workin’ Man” (with Brothers Osborne)
    7. “You’re Gonna Miss Me When I’m Gone” (with Ashley McBryde)
    8. “My Maria” (with Thomas Rhett)
    9. “Red Dirt Road” (with Cody Johnson)
    10. “Boot Scootin’ Boogie” (with Midland)
    11. “Mama Don’t Get Dressed Up For Nothing” (with LANCO)
    12. “Believe” (with Kane Brown)